My Daughter Seoyoung
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 hours ago
9 hours ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Such a beautiful drama! I wish I had watched it when I originally thought about watching it!! So realistic and heartwarming. The perfect story for all of them, and everything worked out for the best in a happy ending!! The acting was superb, but I wouldn't think of anything less with Lee Bo Young... She is such a believably fantastic actor. After seeing Lee Sang Youn in "Angel Eyes", I wanted to read more see him in another drama. His beautiful smile, dimples, and shining eyes... He's so handsome and such a good actor, too! The entire cast was amazing and perfectly matched to their characters.

All in all, I truly loved this drama; and rated it 5 Stars for everyone to watch and enjoy ;) The only thing that held me back from watching it was that it had 50 episodes... Honestly, though, once I made the commitment for the 50 episodes, I was so glad I did! Yes, it was long; but the time passed relatively quickly because the story line was so good, thanks to the writers! No fast-forwarding through any of it. It's just worth every minute of watching time. Try it! You will love it!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Frozen Flower
0 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 hours ago
11 hours ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Molto ben fatto anche se una storia tristissima ç_ç
Ho apprezzato molto il cast e le musiche, nonche la recitazione *-*
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Crows Explode
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Despite the absence of Miike, Oguri Shun, Yamada Takayuki and the rest of the amazing crew, I never actually held previous prejudices on Crows Explode. But after viewing it, I can clearly state that it falls behind compared to its prequels.

Being a fan of Miike’s filmmaking, it was unavoidable to miss the highlighted foolish characterization, extreme violence and hilarious black humour inserted everywhere. That being said, I never expected Toyoda to read more do the same. After all, two different directors have entirely dissimilar way of making their pictures. Crows Explode leaned to the realistic side way too much which was a bit wrong in my opinion; don’t get the wrong idea, immersing the characters and fighting scenes in realism didn’t sound like a bad treat but when it’s over-done with this type of film then things are bound to become bothersome.

To make things clear, this film had too many similarities with its famed prequels. The fight to become Suzuran’s top leader was still used as the main thread to drive the plot. However, the fighting sequences to reach that objective were surprisingly demure and repetitive in a worrisome way. Although Toyoda tried to focus on the human emotions between his characters, he didn’t exploit his main leads’ potential to the fullest. Thus, many feelings couldn’t get pass the screen barrier to reach the watcher’s heart.

Crows Explode narrative pattern was composed of several side stories that didn’t serve any meaning at times. At the matter of fact, few of them were just used to fill the running time instead of building characters’ back stories. To some extent, most of them were heavy to watch especially with the obvious lack of fighting scenes; they became utterly irrelevant to the film’s development. Let’s not forget the near-disappearance of black humour – which I clearly don’t blame Toyoda for it. The last fighting sequence wasn’t blowing but it delivered a nice punch after all.

The entirely different cast is worrisome, isn’t it? I know that many people can’t imagine the “Crows” without Oguri Shun and Yamada Takayuki on top of them. I am a big fan of those two actors myself but shockingly, their disappearance didn’t make me feel bad. I did want them to be in here but the new faces weren’t bad at all. Led by raising stars like Higashide and Yagira, the acting department did the trick for the lack of better words. Some actors didn’t convince me much but I can’t put all the blame on them, the way their characters’ were written didn’t allow them to show a wide range of emotions or action.

The cinematography was trying to be the same as the two Crows Zero but it didn’t come out that way, I believe the yellowish atmosphere is the film’s way of distinguishing itself from the others. The musical note was the same so there's nothing to complain about in that department. The directing style and the setting of fighting sequences are debatable but Toyoda made sure to leave his mark which is more than enough to respect a director.

Watch if:
-You like both Crows Zero but make sure to watch this with an open mind.
-You like school fighting.

Do not watch if:
-You’re looking for a “copy-paste” version of Takashi Miike’s prequels.

Crows Explode had its own touch of filmmaking but the serious realistic depiction that Toyoda decided to use didn’t come out entirely right, just like it wasn’t entirely wrong. Due to its entirely different pattern, this sequel should be viewed for its own merits, comparing it to Miike’s Crows will only make it harder to watch and judge.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tokyo Bandwagon
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Enjoyed this v much, laughed and cried. A seemingly dysfunctional family that goes all out to fulfill the family values and philosophies. Part and yet whole. Love conquers all. Fell in love with it by the time i was at episode 2. Story setting in Shitamachi is real and will give audience a sense of the possibility becos it is a close community. This drama will give you an insight into the read more real lives and burst the bubble of misperception abt Japanese people and their families that non Japanese may have. I wish i can figure out the OST used during credit roll. The theme song of the drama is catchy and the lyrics are beautiful.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hormones
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Guys I'm gonna get a little -maybe, too much- nostalgic while writing this review... So here I go!

Ok, let's talk a little bit about the story:
It mainly focuses on the relationship of nine students from the fictional Nadao Bangkok high school where they course 11th grade.
The drama tells us several stories step by step, focusing the attention on every character and not giving too much importance or relevance to read more an specific one.

Something that I really loved about this drama is the pace it follows. It is divided into 13 episodes but each episode tells a different story focusing in one or two and sometimes 3 characters per episode and their individual stories. Of course it also follows a main-central story but what makes this drama so good is each character and what they have to face, we'll encounter several teenage problems like sexual orientation, confusion, sex, pregnancy, first love, alcohol, parties, school, stress, family, future, friendship, love and first times... For example the first time going to a concert or joining a band or the first time having sex or falling in love, the first time cheating on a test and so... And, who didn't have a “first time”? We all had a first time doing whatever, so we'll be able to relate with the characters.

The reason why I loved this story so much and the reason why you'll probably love it too, is that we can identify with the characters. When I was watching the drama I was all the time like “omg I already lived this”, “I did this too when I was at school” or "I also was in a band" This drama manages to connect with the viewers because of that.

Hormones undoubtedly took me 4 years back in time, the time when I was still 16 years old and was at my last grade at school and everything was new to me... *sigh* My teenage days...
This show put a smile on my face all the time, and sometimes it almost led me to the tears, I remembered my first time going to a concert with friends, or my first time falling in love, and the exciting feeling of experiencing something new, the feeling of growing up and the feeling of getting mature and independent and also the pain of that process... This drama made me realize how beautiful my teenage years were and how much I enjoyed them, and I’m sure it will cause the same effect on you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Little Black Dress
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Mmmm...In general, I don't like to write reviews, but I'm going to do it to make this movie some justice.
Its name's Little Black Dress, which can make you think that it's another brainless story about 4 girls running behind a piece of cloth, but actually it isn't.
It's about the so called "twenties crisis", that maybe some people haven't went through, but saddly I did LOL. It's about the stage of read more your life when everything changes, even yourself, and you have to face life as you can.
The four girls have different personalities, different backgrounds and ways to assume their problems, so it's highly possible that you feel identify with one of the characters or at least with one of the situations that they have to deal with.
All in all, it's not the best movie from 2011 I guess. There're a lot of details missing and some things can be redundant, but if your aim is to be entertained and feel like you're not the only one who has to live with unemployment, love issues and dreams not going true like in fairy tales, I recommend you to give it a try!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Swords of Legends
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I just discovered this drama and can't stop watching it and am up to ep.30. It's interesting how a lot of dramas other's love are boring to me, yet this one that I find so amazing a lot of people don't! This drama for me is such a rich tapestry. I love watching the scenes of ancient China and the culture; the qigong type of energy work, healing and fighting, etc.. I read more love watching the friendships and relationships between the characters. The only weak parts I thought were the opening scenes of the drama. I thought they could have done better art work for that and then the monster vine was just plain stupid. Otherwise I wish I had discovered this when it was ended because it is going to be hard to wait for 1 episode a week once I catch up.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
ROOKIES
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Rookies is full of speeches and if you think, well that's to be expected, it's based on a sports manga but let me re-iterate, Rookies is full of speeches. At times heart-warming and motivational, at times requiring a fast forward because it wore me down. I do wish there were more baseball games to focus but the central focus of the drama is the baseball club and their relationships with each other. read more I don't even know if I have to explain the genre because if you're familiar with the whole delinquents becomes good because of a teacher trend, well, this is it. However, this is more focused on baseball. These delinquents will face a lot of trials in order to not only gain acceptance but rescind their mistakes.

Where Rookies excels for me is the relationships they have with each other. They are all friends chasing a dream that seems impossible. Their teacher is a beacon of light who believes in them no matter what. Man, this guy is more open-armed than the christ the redeemer statue. He believes in his students no matter what. Unfortunately, it is this believe that gives birth to a repetitive slew of motivational speeches that just make me wish he'd shut up. Almost every episode has at least five feel good speeches.

As such, these rambles take the place of action. I would have liked to see more baseball games and more introduction of other characters who rival the club. However, there are some good emotionally moving parts that make you feel all warm and fuzzy and really make you root for this team. I also like how rough around the edges the characters are as it creates some hilarious yet warm moments.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Queen In Hyun's Man
2 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
What a wonderful drama, just enjoy romance, laughter, and drama....very enjoyable. The chemistry between the leading characters is amazing.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Endless Love
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
I grew up in an era when political discord and misuse of power was the way of life. Some of the atrocities that happened in the drama, I'm sure happened as well in our country during that time. I can totally appreciate the plot of the story but was disappointed at some of the story lines presented because they seem non-sensical. A lot of IE's decisions were such and though I often read more times try to excuse it by saying it's the idealism of youth, other times I say her decisions and actions are outright stupid for someone who is supposed to be intelligent. I loved the difference in the personalies of the two leads though Often times I don't understand the motivation in their actions, especially the elder one. All in all, the story was interesting enough to have kept me wanting to watch it every week. The fact that it was shortened was quite obvious at how the pacing changed all of a sudden.
The actors were definitely seasoned and I have just added JKH to my list of best actors. I liked him in Heartless City but now I am in awe of his acting ability.
I liked the music because it had a patriotic feel to it which I felt went well with the story plot.
As for re-watch value....quite a difficult one for me to rewatch because it is such a depressing drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Runaway~Aisuru Kimi no Tame ni
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I give this drama a 5.5 out of the kindness of my heart. I really had to struggle not to give it a 5 or lower. If you're thinking that you want to embark on this journey, I'll merely ask that you use your imagination right now. Imagine a choir of about fifty people all gloriously arranged to be able to shout the most melodic and anointing message possible. Which is SUSPEND read more BELIEF~~ Say it again, SUSPEND BELIEF. Seriously, that is the first rule you must absolutely follow to watch this.

If you find yourself a person who is logical and analytical about dramas then you must really follow that rule in order to enjoy this. This is one of those types of shows you enjoy solely for entertainment purposes. You aren't looking for things to make sense but simply to be entertained.

With that said, welcome to this story. Four men escape prison motivated by different things. They initially work together because they are motivated by the same goal, then later, simply because they are all saintly beings who would shame even the Mother Theresa. I assume they're far more good at being saints because these are the worst fugitives on the planet. I ask you to think of really bad fugitives, then think of something worse, then think of these guys.

However, what's worse than really crappy fugitives? Well, welcome to the most incompetent police force on the planet. They give the guys in I hear Your Voice a run for their money. This police force that cannot catch a bunch of fugitives who are tweeting their locations and running away with a seven year old girl. Yes, a seven year old girl can outrun this bunch. These fugitives constantly call their significant others, utilize cell phones and payphones to call people, visit their significant others and the cops can't track them nor catch them. In fact, most of the chase scenes involve the cops accidentally bumping into this bunch. This gives birth to a repetitive sequence of Tom and Jerry.

However, this drama has its strengths. For one, I think the main focus is what is motivating these fugitives. They all have different and touching stories that motivate them to break out of jail. It's these stories that manage to somewhat solidify this mess. The main focus is especially on Ataru. He initiates the jail break because his daughter is dying; he wants to save her at all costs. In between this is a sub plot that is steeped in mystery.

Strangely enough, this drama surprisingly captures something I don't quite think it was even trying to focus on, which is politics in the police force. It really gives a glimpse on how the people in power can disregard corruption in the police force in order to not tarnish the reputation of the police. I doubt the script writers intended the person watching to note this but this was the one thing, they oddly manage to do well.

Unfortunately, every fugitive show cliche is featured here. From making quick escapes to doors being opened only to find our fugitives are not there. Unlike many, this for me was not a nail biting experience, there were great twists when it mattered but it quickly became obvious that this crew was practically invincible, it really becomes Tom and Jerry or Wile E Coyote and the Road Runner if you prefer. Furthermore, your typical cliche prevented this from being the jittery experience some reviews promised. Especially, not if you've watched just about any fugitive show that's aired. At one point, apathy began to set in and I just could not be emotionally moved.

Furthermore, themes intermingle so strangely making me question my feelings. It's at times humorous, cute, ridiculous, heart warming, ghastly and even comedic. It's a blend of strange themes that work yet don't. Almost like a bizarre concoction of food.

Bottom line: Do I recommend this? Bizarrely, yes. It's entertaining for what it's worth. It could be that I'm on a phase of perving over the lead, I still don't know his name but this does mark the third drama in a space of two days that I have decided to watch in order to enjoy his presence (Also, I am a sucker for a buzz cut). Perhaps, that made this more entertaining for me, but yeah, if you're looking for something action filled. To me this isn't really a thriller, go for it. It's entertaining for what it's worth.

Finally, I remind you to SUSPEND BELIEF!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Surplus Princess
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
This drama was great up until it was noticeably rushed. The ending was odd and very confusing, I didn't quite understand it so I had to look up the reason why it seemed like that. Anyways it was cut due to not being popular in South Korea.

The drama is about a mermaid princess who has been stalking this chief that has a nice butt. Things take a turn when he falls read more into the water. With this drama there's hot guys, butt groping, and some nice surprises like references to shows and music (it's a really nice little bonus). I recommend people who are familiar with Korean stars and music to watch it because it really is fun even though the ending was rushed.

With saying that, I liked it for the laughs and giggles. It's a nice drama if you are feeling depressed and just want something fun even though at times it tries to get dramatic it goes right back to being funny.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Skip Beat!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I have seen the anime, and loved it. Watching the drama, was amazing! True it's not the same as the anime, but this drama has been getting differnet reactions from me. With the actors/actresses, playing their parts, sometimes I would yell at the screen or laugh loudly, like I am there with them. That's how good they are! I love the show, and after a couple months or maybe next year, I read more would probably watch it again!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Koo Gum
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
This was my first Thai War Movie. I came in without knowing any of the actors & not knowing too much about Thai movies.

Story 10/10: because this was my first war movie made in Thailand. The story was well-written & I wanted to know was what another country like during that time. I only seen it in Korea, Japan, Russia & American's point of view in Asian movies & movies in read more general. I wanted to see it in a different point-of-view.

Acting 10/10. The actors were amazing, especially the leads. I cried with them & smiled a little when there were happy moments. The acting was the best part of this movie & I hope to see the leads in a different drama or movie soon.(I'm trying to watch Thai dramas & movies)

Music 9/10: The set the tone of the movie & the BGMs were memorable.


Re-watch value 6.5/10: There were a lot of sad moments in this movie & some of the scenes were hard to watch becuase I was crying so hard.

Overall, I definitely recommend this movie to anyone who likes Thai movies, the actors, romance, drama and/or war movies/dramas.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The King of Dramas
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I originally came into this drama for Si Won. I wanted to see how he acted in this drama, since he was still a rookie actor at the time. But I came to love the story & the actors in it. LOVED SI WON IN THIS DRAMA!

Story 8.5/10: Most of the drama was great. But near the end, was kind of unnecessary, but it was still good for the acting & read more conflict.

Acting 9/10: The acting was great. They all have comedic timing in this & laughed-out-loud so hard on some moments, especially Si Won's moments. I started to like the main leads, because I haven't seen the male lead in anything & I have seen the female lead in My name is Kim Sam Soon & I think she's a great actress. Si Won was amazing in this drama! That's all I have to say without spoiling it.

music 8/10: The music fitted the scenes well. The BGMs were memorable, some songs were not.

I would re-watch this drama if I want a really want to laugh out loud. 8/10

Overall, I recommend this drama if you like comedies & the actors & actresses.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No